Big News: Denver to DC!

So after a month of not posting any updates, I have some exciting news to share. In June, I’ll be moving from Denver to DC for a one-year position (which will hopefully be extended once I’m done)!

pink-capitol-1437636-m

Photo Source

Part of the reason I’ve been delaying posting any updates on this move is because there have been so many aspects to sort out. The first one is the biggest… our family will be living apart through this upcoming holiday season. I’ll go ahead to DC and the rest of the “herd” will stay behind in Denver while the hubby finishes up a project at work.

There are still a lot of details for us to sort out, like specifics of the move itself, but the good news is that we have the actual housing part sorted out. The cautious part of that news is that it will involve Diggs and Isis moving in with another cat and dog for several months. Now, we know that Diggs likes the dog, Xena, and gets along fine with the cat, Cat. Actually, Cat is pretty good at making his opinion known with Diggs and has the weight to prove a point if he needs to.

20140101_000329

Not one of my best pictures, but at least you can see both pups together!

However, Isis may present a challenge. It’s been a long time since I’ve tried to introduce two cats to one another, but I’m hoping it will go as smoothly as possible. There are lots of things I hope will help, like using our Feliway and keeping them separated for an extended period of time until they get used to one another. Cat has had another cat move in and out of his home and did pretty well, but that cat was much older and pretty much stayed to himself. So it’s hard to say at this point what the first round of introductions will look like. I know moving is never easy, but I do feel better that Isis will have Diggs and her dad around to help make her more comfortable.

Other topics we’ll have to tackle at some point is the actual transportation of the animals. When we adopted Diggs we were warned about his tendency to get carsick, which our experiences confirmed rather quickly. He does ok with our short trips to daycare, training and the vet, but I don’t know how he’ll do on a longer drive. Hopefully the overall improvements we’ve seen in his digestion will help the car sickness for the trip. Right?

Diggs in the Car

These pictures were taken while the car was stopped, I promise.

We will definitely have to work on getting him to lay down while he rides instead of standing/sitting the entire time, although he’s pretty good at sitting if he’s asked to. Additionally, I suppose I now have my final motivation to get him a safety harness for the car. Has anyone tried the Ruff Rider line of harnesses? Since my car really isn’t dog friendly, like an SUV or hatchback, and has leather seats, I’m always worried about him sliding around and bumping into the seats when I stop. And he never gets to ride in the front seat anymore because of my concerns with the air bags. So driving across country should be interesting, to say the least.

Have you had to be away from your pets for an extended period of time? Or have you tackled big moves with the pets? 

 

This entry was posted in Diggs, Family, Isis, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Big News: Denver to DC!

  1. Maggie says:

    Wow! That is huge news! Congrats! I love DC… it’s my absolute favorite city, and it’s where we were living when both Emmett and Lucas joined our family. If you need any tips or resources in the area, let me know and I”m happy to try to help! As for the big move… we did DC to Indiana, then Indiana to Louisiana (with a year-long separation in between with John in LA with Newt while I was still in IN with the dogs), and we have another one just a few months away. It’s definitely an adjustment (for everyone) but the best suggestion I can give is to put all their stuff – from the big stuff like beds and bowls to the little things like a favorite blanket, toys, etc. – in one box that is the first in and first unpacked. Having “their” stuff set up right away gave them a touch point that I think really helped them settle. Good luck!! Please reach out if I can help at all!

    • I had no idea you guys were from DC originally, I started reading about your adventures while you were still in Indiana. I will definitely be asking you for pet tips once we get closer to bringing the rest of the family out there, you can count on that. One of the things we struggle with Isis is that she doesn’t really have many things that are “hers”. She’d much rather sleep on my feet than on a soft kitty bed at night, so maybe we should try to establish a few special things for her before we go? But I definitely like the idea of the pet essentials box, just like we always prepare for ourselves for the first night in a new place. Good suggestion!

  2. Leslie says:

    Big new indeed! And while I was reading this, I was thinking, “You know who you should talk to about this? Maggie Marton from “Oh My Dog!” blog.” And lookie there. ^^ She beat me to you. 😉

    This is a big deal – congrats and welcome to our side of the country. 🙂

    I’m not familiar with the harness you mentioned but if you have a back seat vs. a hatchback, I know folks have been pleased with the Kurgo hammock (http://www.amazon.com/Kurgo-Wander-Hammock-Cover-Orange/dp/B00164U144) or something like it. It’s billed as a seat cover but it can keep your dog from falling off the seats and slamming into things.

    FTR, a little Benadryl before you drive could help him sleep through the whole thing. (Test him first because some dogs have the opposite reaction.)

    Anyway, congrats on the new job, good luck with the move and hit us up when you’re on this side of the coast. There are more than a few bloggers located in the DC/surrounding area: AJ from I Still Want More Puppies (http://wantmorepuppies.com) and “Team Tavish” of Intrepid Pup (http://www.intrepidpup.com) to name just a couple. Along with Maggie, they will certainly be able to head you in the right direction as you explore your new locale.

    PS – Nice to hear from you again. 🙂

    • I’ve debated the hammock style seat covers before, so that’s definitely something I’ll be taking a look at again. The picture of Diggs in my back seat shows how small the floor space is back there, but removing the possibility of him sliding off is always a good thing. Our vet mentioned Benadryl recently, but we haven’t had a chance to try it out yet. We don’t really go on long car trips unless we’re driving across several states, so we need to find a good test case beforehand.

      And yes, it’s nice to be back. I’ve missed posting and commenting in Blogland, although I’ve been trying to keep up with the highlights from everyone. Hopefully I can get back to a more regular schedule before everything gets crazy.

  3. OhMelvin says:

    Wooohoooo!!! We will be neighbors (well I have no idea where you will be living but in theory we will be neighbors!). Happy to help with any questions you might have about the area. Good luck with the car training, both my boys do ok in the car but I imagine others will have some advice on that part!

    • Thanks! I’ll definitely be researching the pet-related options before everyone else comes out, but luckily I can do that from DC rather than from Denver. I’m sure I’ll have lots of questions to pester my “neighbors” with!

Leave a Reply

